“So Christ has truly set us free. Now make sure that you stay free, and don’t get tied up again in slavery to the law.”      Galatians 5:1

Thinking about the Easter season this year, one of our pastors challenged us to figure out what our Easter looks like. What are you hoping/longing for in this season of hope and resurrection?

me and dad

As some of you may know, my father died suddenly in January and it has been a difficult for me and my family. He took his own life as a result of depression and none of us knew the despair that he was experiencing. As I reflect on the memories with my Dad, I remember how selfless he was and his desire to provide for his family was so great. He always wanted us to have the best.

I remember when I was getting ready to drive and told him about the used cars that I wanted to drive, he went and leased a Jetta for me to drive in. He wanted to make sure that I was in something safe and dependable. When I would come home from college, he would always make sure that I had enough money to make it back through the tolls and anything else that I may have needed. He was always calling to check up on my sister and me when we were away and wanting to know how we were doing.

I am so blessed to have all those memories to look back on. As I look forward to this Easter season, I think about how we are all feeling the weight of the world and I pray that we can all be freed from that feeling. God has already freed us from this world, but we sometimes forget and put ourselves back in the bondage of sin. The Easter story reminds us that we did nothing to deserve this freedom from sin, but Jesus chose to follow God’s will and save us all from death. Even in my dad’s death, Christ saved him.

me and dad_wedding

“Therefore, God elevated [Jesus] to the place of highest honor and gave him the name above all other names, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord,to the glory of God the Father.”
Philippians 2:9-11

May we all be reminded of Christ’s story, how he lived, died, and rose for us all. Because of his grace and mercy, we can be free from this world’s expectations and live in God’s love for eternity.

Happy Easter!

(In memory of my Dad, there is a memorial fund set  up for my mom to help with expenses. If you feel so moved, please make checks payable to “In Memory of James Waganer”, mailed to Susquehanna Bank of New Freedom, 16576 Susquehanna Trail, New Freedom, PA 17349. Or you may also make memorial contributions may  to A.F.S.P., 120 Wall St., New York, NY 10005)